The Eagle's Call

Girls should be accepted on boys’ sports teams

Back to Article
Back to Article

Girls should be accepted on boys’ sports teams

Maggie Glad, Guest Writer, 6th Grade

Hang on for a minute...we're trying to find some more stories you might like.


Email This Story






Did you know that more than 7.3 million kids participated in youth sports during 2017? Girls rarely play with boys sports teams, and coaches and sports fans should be more accepting of girls on boys sports teams. Girls have the same athletic ability, girls are as strong or as tall as boys and various laws say that girls should be on the same sports teams if they choose to.

To start, girls are as tall or muscular as boys. If a girl isn’t as strong as a boy, she can train until she is as strong as a boy. Also girls can already be as strong as boys. For instance, Skylar Vetter is a 15-year-old girl from Lakeville. She plays hockey, but for boys. She is a goalie for the Bantam AA team (the best team before high school hockey) for Lakeville North. She has played hockey with boys all through her youth. She has a scholarship to the University of Minnesota for hockey.

Laura Winfield, a cricket star, played with boys all through her youth all the way through high school. Now Laura is one of the greatest cricket stars.  Plus studies show that girls have better endurance, do better under pressure and think faster. For example in many sports athletes have to think quickly. Athletes have to choose whether or not they pass the ball or shoot the ball and women can make decisions very quickly and easily.

Lastly the Sex Discrimination Law says that if a woman has a disadvantage to the average man in any sport or activity it is unlawful. Also the Law of 1972 says that girls should have the same sport opportunities as men.

In conclusion, some think that girls cannot be on boys sports teams because they are not strong enough. But, if girls try they can be as strong as boys. All in all girls should be accepted on the same sports team as boys because they have the same athletic ability as boys, they can be the same height and weight as boys and because of various laws girls should have the same opportunities as men.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
62 Comments

62 Responses to “Girls should be accepted on boys’ sports teams”

  1. Someone you don't know on April 29th, 2018 9:02 pm

    Are you just gonna let join a girl volley ball team? No? That’s what I thought

  2. Anonymous on May 9th, 2018 12:15 pm

    They’re called BOY and GIRL teams for a reason. Though I respect the effort out into the article, there are already co-ed teams. Boy teams are specific to males for their testosterone level strength. Girl teams are specific to females for their estrogen level strengths.

  3. Sam on May 11th, 2018 1:58 pm

    I get the idea and everything and it’s a good thing to say why this should happen and all but it just doesn’t work like that. There’s boy teams and there’s girl teams. If you are a male(meaning you have male genitalia if you choose not to identify in that way) you don’t join a girls team. Same goes with both sexes. I’m not against the idea, you just have to put a little bit more logic into it. You could maybe have both male or females on a team together but when there is separate teams with separate genders it doesn’t work that way.

  4. Olivia on May 17th, 2018 8:02 pm

    Ok I understand all three of these negative comments. Yes there are boys, girls, and coed teams, but some girls might not like those teams, her athletic ability could match better and be more valuable on a ‘boys team’. The one thing all of this negativity towards this article proves is that there is no gender equality. It just proves that no matter how equal we think women’s and men’s rights and opinions are, girls are still confined to a stereotype on what our society has decided.

  5. Amelia on May 22nd, 2018 11:32 am

    Then boys should be allowed on girls team if it’s about equality. Although I respect your opinion, if you’re talking equality then maybe what you should be shooting for is neutralizing teams altogether.

  6. Boy on May 25th, 2018 7:52 am

    Why can’t boys play on girls teams then?

  7. Boy on May 25th, 2018 7:57 am

    Why can’t boys play girls sports then?

  8. Jasper on October 4th, 2018 12:46 pm

    They are called boys and girls sport teams for a reason

  9. Olivia on October 8th, 2018 12:07 pm

    This was posted last year and I still feel the amount of negativity towards is still strong. I’m going to say what I said last time: a girl shouldn’t have to be on a ‘girls team’ just because of a gender she was given at birth. Same with a boy shouldn’t have to be on a ‘boys team’ for the same reason. Equal rights means we shouldn’t have to separate. A girl could perform better and be a more valuable team member on a ‘boys team’ same with having a boy playing on a ‘girls team’ could be helpful. Before 6th grade, I actually played flag football on a team that was all boys, and most of the league was boys too. I was the only girl in flag football other than one girl who was in the youngest team. I still had fun. I might not have been the best at it, but you don’t see any female teams for flag football. There are just some sports that only have boys teams or sports that only have girls teams. It’s not fair to a person who wants to play a sport not be able to because of their gender.

  10. Skylar Vetter on October 9th, 2018 7:29 pm

    Love this

  11. Tyler on October 12th, 2018 1:52 pm

    Studies have shown that male’s and female’s muscles grow differently. Therefore male and females should’t be allowed to be on each other’s teams. You argue in your article that some athletes would be more helpful on the other genders team because of there skill in the particular sport but if the student is so talented at his or her sport the middle school does provide an option to play at the high school in their particular sport because of their talent. You mention gender inequality in one of your notes and I might point out that an opportunity to play is better than none at all, it’s not like boys are receiving a better coach in any sport.

  12. Tyler on October 12th, 2018 2:02 pm

    This artical is fascinating I think both sides of this argument have really good points. I think that girls and boys should be able to participate in the other genders sports. As you mentioned girls are just as good as boys and I might even add that some girls are better than some boys

  13. bumble on November 15th, 2018 1:51 pm

    they got girl teams tho. i disagree with this article

  14. Piper on November 16th, 2018 4:58 pm

    I really agree they girls should be allowed on boys teams. We are just as strong as them if not stronger! (Them being boys)

  15. Ella on November 21st, 2018 1:05 pm

    I fully believe with this article. I am a teen girl and I have been asked by many boys why I don’t join their football teams. It surprises me when boys ask that because usually football is a boys’ sport. You don’t mess with them and their sport and they don’t mess with you. I usually answer that question by saying imagine you want on the girls volleyball team what do you think those coaches would say. I have even talked to my school’s football coach and he said it is a boys sport and we don;’t want you to get hurt by the boys.

  16. Yesceniya on November 28th, 2018 3:13 pm

    Well girls and boys should play on the same team because they have almost everything the same so deal with it they all have the same athletic ability and some girls are stronger then most boys are.

  17. isabelle on December 5th, 2018 2:43 pm

    i think girls should be on boys teams because fuoshoufhduofrgufbsdjciAHCUOeag9uf 75% of girls are as strong as boys

  18. Noah on December 10th, 2018 11:54 am

    I totally disagree with all the negative comments. Why can’t girls play on boys teams. I feel like it’s wrong. Men and Women were created equally.

  19. Truth on December 21st, 2018 10:23 am

    Why did you name the article “Girls should be accepted on boys sports teams” if your opinion is the exact opposite? You also said that it is unlawful for girls to have unequal sports rights as men but bringing this up is irrelevant because it has nothing to do with the main idea of the article. The eagles call needs better writers that can apply logic and better proofreaders so that mediocre content like this does not appear on the site. This is why many people do not read the school news.

  20. Keanni Ventura on January 22nd, 2019 4:15 pm

    Bruhhhhhhh But what if girls what to play football the couch should let them so I mean girls should be able to play or try out for guys or boys so to ya Point made

  21. Not me on January 27th, 2019 10:59 am

    Some schools don’t have boys team or girls team for most of the sports, like volleyball there is no boys volleyball in most schools, and football, there is also not enough girls team for football.

  22. Riley on February 8th, 2019 12:10 pm

    I agree with this

  23. Jessie on February 13th, 2019 9:26 am

    I agree that girls should be aloud but only if they are just as athletically capable or better.

  24. Devin McGregor on February 13th, 2019 9:28 am

    I agree with your statement. Girls should be able to try out for the boys team. There wouldn’t be a guarantee that you make the team, but you should at least be able to try.

  25. Adrian Singh on February 13th, 2019 9:30 am

    I really like this article, I like how you were cautious to look at how others would view this topic.

  26. Devin McGregor on February 13th, 2019 9:35 am

    I agree with this. Girls should be able to try out for boys teams. There would be no guarantee of making the team, but girls should at least be able to try out.

  27. jack paul on February 20th, 2019 10:45 am

    I think girls should not play

  28. jake on February 21st, 2019 10:50 am

    Did you know that more than 7.3 million kids participated in youth sports during 2017? Girls rarely play with boys sports teams, and coaches and sports fans should be more accepting of girls on boys sports teams. Girls have the same athletic ability, girls are as strong or as tall as boys and various laws say that girls should be on the same sports teams if they choose to.

    To start, girls are as tall or muscular as boys. If a girl isn’t as strong as a boy, she can train until she is as strong as a boy. Also girls can already be as strong as boys. For instance, Skylar Vetter is a 15-year-old girl from Lakeville. She plays hockey, but for boys. She is a goalie for the Bantam AA team (the best team before high school hockey) for Lakeville North. She has played hockey with boys all through her youth. She has a scholarship to the University of Minnesota for hockey.

    Laura Winfield, a cricket star, played with boys all through her youth all the way through high school. Now Laura is one of the greatest cricket stars. Plus studies show that girls have better endurance, do better under pressure and think faster. For example in many sports athletes have to think quickly. Athletes have to choose whether or not they pass the ball or shoot the ball and women can make decisions very quickly and easily.

    Lastly the Sex Discrimination Law says that if a woman has a disadvantage to the average man in any sport or activity it is unlawful. Also the Law of 1972 says that girls should have the same sport opportunities as men.

    In conclusion, some think that girls cannot be on boys sports teams because they are not strong enough. But, if girls try they can be as strong as boys. All in all girls should be accepted on the same sports team as boys because they have the same athletic ability as boys, they can be the same height and weight as boys and because of various laws girls should have the same opportunities as men.

  29. Trixy on February 22nd, 2019 12:38 pm

    What if there isn’t a team some sports such as wrestling don’t normally have a girls team for the school so explain what girls like me are supposed to do our school doesn’t have a girls team what do you expect me to do not play cause there is not a girls team. People who aren’t willing to risk it all by combining boys and girls on sports teams are cowards I don’t want to offend any one but it’s true and always will be.

  30. Blob on February 25th, 2019 10:13 am

    The girl and boy teams remind me of the black and white segregation in the 1900’s.

  31. nate on February 27th, 2019 2:02 pm

    yyyyyyyyyyyyyyyeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeesssssssssssss baby girls do get the same rights.

  32. tayae garcia on February 27th, 2019 2:04 pm

    if girls play on a boys’ team they can build their confidence that they can do anything if they can hang with the boys.

  33. aaliyah on February 27th, 2019 2:06 pm

    yes baby i’m an inspiration to them girls i’m playing on a boys’ seven on seven team called CIBOLO ELITE PRESIDENT TYRONNE MCREARY AND OFFENSIVE COORDINATOR RANDY DEFENSIVE COORDINATOR.

  34. a smart almost 14 year old on February 28th, 2019 3:30 pm

    They talk about gender equality all the time and this is just another factor into the argument. When it comes to jobs, females and males have the same opportunity to work so why not in sports. Most females including myself enjoy playing and watching football and I personally would be over the roof excited to play on a high school football team. Males play volleyball, basketball , soccer, rugby, and have even went into the cheer world. These are all sports that females play. So to make cheer,which im a part of, a primary girl sport coed, why not football. Girls should have the same opportunity’s.

  35. eli on March 1st, 2019 10:13 am

    i think that this is a really good essay because boys think their better than girls and stronger and i beleive that girls should have equal rights as boys so THANK YOU

  36. No on March 5th, 2019 10:12 am

    If this is about equality why aren’t there rights for boys to play on a girls team if he wants to. Sure if there aren’t any girls teams in a sports there should be. There should be an equal number of sports per gender dependent on demand of the sport. Besides there are girls volleyball teams but several times there aren’t any for boys. They should have teams for all sports for both genders. There are some co-Ed teams but those are in specific situations and any one can feel free to join one. But with boys and girls teams their called boys and girls teams for a reason. Boys and girls mature, think, grow, and do many different things quite differently. They are different genders and therefore should be treated that way. Also with boys and girls scouts girls should be able to do what boys are doing but they are seperate for a reason. Also there’s a reason most boys don’t go around trying to join the girls scouts. They are boys and girls teams for a reason otherwise they would just be teams which is what coed is for they are meant to be different.

  37. kewane on March 5th, 2019 11:21 am

    I don’t think boys and girls should be allowed to play sports together because boys may be afraid to hurt a girl and then not play to his full potential. Girls should be considerate of this because if people are talking about fairness but you have to look at all sides of the picture.

  38. no one knows on March 11th, 2019 8:03 am

    girls should they are as strong as boys

  39. Maddie on March 20th, 2019 9:01 am

    Girls are just as strong as guys. Sure we may look weak but we can train just as hard and just as long and be equal to guys.

  40. daniel on April 1st, 2019 11:47 am

    girls are b
    etter than boys

  41. not your name on April 2nd, 2019 1:00 pm

    there is a boy and girls team if there not than why are boy allowed to do cheer for the NFL i like this article but what i just said goes to all the people in the comment that are against this i play football for three years know the boys respect me and there is not a problem with that. why should we have a girl wrestling league and we don’t have a girls football league

  42. jayden on April 3rd, 2019 8:26 am

    girls should be allowed to play with us boys

  43. delila on April 10th, 2019 3:08 pm

    i fill we should all be equally respected and playing boy sports if we want we can no one can control us we are strong independent women

  44. daniel on April 11th, 2019 12:16 pm

    i think girls should be able to be on the boys team they have no right to diclude them

  45. daniel on April 11th, 2019 12:17 pm

    i think girls should be able to be on the boys team they have no right to not let girls play

  46. daniel on April 11th, 2019 12:19 pm

    girls should be able to play on boys team am i right

  47. daniel on April 11th, 2019 12:20 pm

    i think girls should be able to play on boys team

  48. Someone on April 12th, 2019 6:11 pm

    I mean look is their something where boys can just have fun on their own and girls can have fun on their own?

  49. daniel on April 16th, 2019 12:25 pm

    But girls have the right to play on boys team so do not disclude girls

  50. Hailey on April 18th, 2019 9:44 am

    If you think about sports there is baseball and softball. some people say that the are the ¨same¨ sport but they are not. This being one of the reasons I am mad. You have to be a BOY to play baseball but boys can play softball with girls. Like what the heck.

  51. daniel on April 18th, 2019 12:42 pm

    let girls play with boys

  52. daniel on April 19th, 2019 11:42 am

    Girls should be able to join boy sports because boys and girls they can be the same at sports.Girls can maybe be better than boys at sports.It’s not right to disclude girls what if girls will disclude boys like at volleyball and at soccer.So it does not madder that if girls suck or don’t suck don’t disclude them give them a shot.

    Also girls have the right to play on boys team so do not disclude girls I think girls should be able to play on boys teams they have no right to not let girls play I think girls should be able to be on the boys team they have no right to disclude Did you know that more than 7.3 million kids participated in youth sports during 2017? Girls rarely play with boys sports teams, and coaches and sports fans should be more accepting of girls on boys sports teams. Girls have the same athletic ability, girls are as strong or as tall as boys and various laws say that girls should be on the same sports teams if they choose to.

    Lastly the Discrimination Law says that if a woman has a disadvantage to the average man in any sport or activity it is unlawful. Also the Law of 1972 says that girls should have the same sport opportunities as men.
    In conclusion, some think that girls cannot be on boys sports teams because they are not strong enough. But, if girls try they can be as strong as boys. All in all girls should be accepted on the same sports team as boys because they have the same athletic ability as boys, they can be the same height and weight as boys and because of various laws girls should em.have the same opportunity.girls should be able to play on boys sport is because they have the right to play on boys team is because girls can play like soccer tennis volleyball even hockey girls can play any sports so do not disclude girls even if the don’t wanna lose the game you have to give them a chance to play with boys.boys and girls can probably be good on the same team.How I know that boys disclude girls is because my friends do it all the time.The reason why I also say girls should play with boys is because they also have good skills at sports all the time but boys don’t give them a chance to play with them And, another good reason why I think girls should play on boy sports is that just that girls suck at sports doesn’t mean you can disclude them at anything so don’t disclude them at anything.girls can be so good.Also girls should play with boys because they can also be athletic.Girls can be good at basketball,tennis,soccer,etc.Girls have the talent
    ” at anything you just have to give them a shot to play.

  53. jakepaul on April 19th, 2019 12:14 pm

    its every day bro

  54. Timya Johnson on May 3rd, 2019 3:03 pm

    I think that girls should play because if you want a better experiance show off your skills and try to win the game a girl.(And don’t change because you are on a boys team just act like yourself!!)

  55. Your local sewer rat on May 6th, 2019 10:36 am

    I don’t understand this.

  56. Not important on May 6th, 2019 12:13 pm

    I think that girls should be allowed on boys teams and boys should be allowed on girl teams. At gymnastics the boys get to do rings and pommel horse, which I really want to try but can’t because they don’t let girls go on the boys team. I’ve also seen boys who want to do stuff the girls do, like beam but because they’re boys they can’t. Teams should really just be gender neutral.

  57. T***a on May 7th, 2019 7:39 am

    When I was in 3rd grade, all I wanted to do was play football with the boys at recess. I asked if I could play and they said yes. They started to teach me the basics when a 5th grade teacher came up to me. She said “Why don’t you go play tag with the girls. It looks like your bothering the boys.” That moment was one the I’ll never forget. I still love to play sports and hang out with boys. But still, people don’t except us girls. We need to take a stand.

  58. Breanna Jackson on May 7th, 2019 12:20 pm

    I agree that the girls should be aloud to be on the boys team and the boys should be on the girls team if they want but the boys gotta understand that there are females out here including myself that can do certain thing better than guys and if you can prove us females wrong until then nobody have the right to say anything about girls not being aloud to join the boys team and that’s just facts. like it don’t be that serious to the point when he have to argue about it everyone have they own opinion on things and i don’t see the problem, i think the problem is that the boys don’t want to be showed up in their own game i laugh because i know us females can do better and better and show everybody that we can do it whoever doubted us and i love proving people wrong. So i think GIRLS should join the boys teams cause one thing for sure girls have a way much better mind set and we might help yah win !! 😉

  59. Breanna Jackson on May 7th, 2019 12:30 pm

    Another thing yah boys can hate on my comment i really don’t care cause i will stand for what i had to say and nobody will ever make me see different thank you very much, yah swear yah own football and basketball but i seen half of yah can’t even handle that, for yah being GUYS but hey yah think yah the shit but us GIRLS can do it way much better we have our mindset on steady while yah guys can’t control the hunger for fame and money we do it based on the love and desire we have for that sport, i would like to see someone prove me wrong i mean that’s if you can cause you won’t get far with your words cause all yah have are negative comments on why girls should not be playing boy sports like come on get real nobody ever said these sports is only meant for guys to play so stop pretending like yah own everything cause without females yah nothing to be honest.

  60. Landyn Persicano on May 15th, 2019 8:35 am

    im writing an essay on this topic and i want to know what you all think??

  61. wiley metzger on May 16th, 2019 9:46 am

    So what if a girl musical grow different from boys girls won’t hurt boys and boys won’t hurt girls. Boy and girls are the same so what if girls have breast and not a dick so what there is nothing wrong with that it’s just different body parts that we don’t have. If girls have what it takes to be on boys team then let them join same with the boy is they want to play with girls and they have the skill to play on a girls team then let us in its a stupid stereotype. I don”t mind a girl playing with boys and boys playing with girls.

  62. unknown on May 17th, 2019 1:59 pm

    Hell Ya! I so think girls should play! My sister is a six foot six, 230-pound defensive end and she has had fifteen sacks this season. she also has three MVP titles. and she is high school and is kickass awesome!

This publication encourages civil discussion of important issues and values constructive reader feedback.

If you want a picture to show with your comment, go get a gravatar.




Navigate Left
  • Girls should be accepted on boys’ sports teams

    Opinion

    Editorial: Student homework load needs to be reduced

  • Girls should be accepted on boys’ sports teams

    Opinion

    Dress code needs to be changed

  • Girls should be accepted on boys’ sports teams

    Opinion

    We should have grade-separated lunches

  • Girls should be accepted on boys’ sports teams

    Opinion

    Zoos should be banned

  • Girls should be accepted on boys’ sports teams

    Opinion

    Schools should have later start times

  • Girls should be accepted on boys’ sports teams

    Opinion

    Editorial: Arming teachers is not the answer

  • Girls should be accepted on boys’ sports teams

    Opinion

    VMSS should add higher-level classes

  • Girls should be accepted on boys’ sports teams

    Opinion

    VMSS needs an LGBTQ+ support club

  • Girls should be accepted on boys’ sports teams

    Opinion

    Better background checks needed for gun ownership

  • Girls should be accepted on boys’ sports teams

    Opinion

    True respect requires action

Navigate Right
A publication by and for students of Valley Middle School of STEM
Girls should be accepted on boys’ sports teams